Quilt Frenzy

My sister Heather is a quilter and crafter and mom-extraordinaire. For example, she printed and labeled individual candy packets with “Honeydukes” on the label for Anna’s 10th birthday party with a Harry Potter-theme.

honeydukes

So obviously, I solicited her help with Aunt Becky’s vendor display. When Heather visited Portland, we spent a couple of hours at Hollyhill Quilt Shoppe in West Linn, OR. Heather is an intuitive color matcher! We found the perfect fabrics to make a display quilt, aprons, and other décor. The plan was to make a quilt together the next time I visited her in San Diego.

Fast forward a few weeks to my trip for Anna’s 10th birthday party. Before I packed, I washed and dried the fabric (only one of MANY steps in making a quilt). We started cutting and working on the quilt on Sunday evening and finished Monday before my plane left. Heather says she’s never made a quilt so quickly. To honor and show my forever gratitude, and because it’s fun, I documented some of the steps.

Quilting involves endless ironing, measuring and detail. Then straight seam sewing and, you guessed it, more ironing. It helps when you’re working with someone you can heckle a little during the process.

1 cutting3 layout5 iron more

The next step was fun. We made a template with freezer paper in the same shape as Aunt Becky’s logo. Heather’s better at cutting out intricate patterns. After ironing the applique, Heather sewed a blanket stitch to hem the applique.

4 applique6 iron on applique7 border strip

Heather added an inner border and an outer border, then I ironed. Heather laid out the top in a sandwich of batting and muslin backing. Then she sewed around all the seams of the appliqué and each square. In the quilting world, it’s called stitch in the ditch. She trimmed the excess and sewed the red border to create the masterpiece!

8 iron strips9 iron border10 final quilt

We quickly cleaned up the sewing room. I packed my bags and Heather dropped me off at the airport in time to make it to parent/teacher conferences at school.

Believe it or not, there are actually a few more steps. Heather used “invisible” thread on the top of the quilt. I asked her how she could see the thread if it was invisible. She just looked at me with an expression that said, “ease up on the heckling if you want me to finish this quilt”. I have to snip all the extra threads and sew a sleeve on the back for hanging. Then I’m going to make a free-standing display out of pvc pipe. After my experience cutting pvc pipe during the Bamboo Eradication, it could be a sketchy project. Either way, the quilt is amazing. Also, I brought a box of Honeydukes candy back for my nephew Lincoln. Candy for a 3 year old seems like an excellent idea!

Leave a Reply

