Doubly Peachy

My sister Rachel has this weird way of giving people nicknames that stick. So this will not come as a big surprise, one of my nicknames is “Cheese” or “Cheese Queen”. In case you didn’t grow up in the 80’s, it basically means I’m queen of the dorks. Not really a compliment, but when I use the title “Doubly Peachy” for a post, it’s probably valid.

As you may have guessed, “double peachy” means I made two types of peach jam in one day.

Golden Raspberry Peach

peach treeGolden raspberry peach

The combination of Elberta Peaches and golden Anne raspberries meld together for a slightly sweet tart, golden jam. Elberta Peaches are popular for their bright peachy red color and golden centers. Golden raspberries are ripe in the early autumn. Raspberries twice a year! Fantastic! They have a slightly more mild flavor than regular raspberries and a hint of apricot flavor.

Vivid Peach

vivid peach pickedpeachvivid peach

Vivid peaches are huge and taste like summer-time. Okay, I know it seems like I’m exaggerating, but that’s how I feel. Just like every new jam flavor is my new favorite. But for real, these peaches are so yummy. I liked them so much, that I canned 20 jars of peaches for my nieces in the heat of summer. Now that’s love, for my nieces and for vivid peaches.

Leave a Reply

