DIY Booth Display

Craft show season is quickly approaching. One of the questions I often get asked about is how I built my quilt hanger for my booth. If you don’t have a quilt, this method works great with a sign or other display as well.

display complete

Materials

  • 4 PVC pipes (1 1/4 inch diameter, 1/8″ thick)
  • 6 elbow joints (1 1/4″ diameter)
  • 2 T-joints (1 1/4′ diameter)
  • Display item (quilt, sign, etc.)

Tools

  • Tape measure
  • Saw

Tips

PVC pipe

If you’ve never used PVC pipe for a project, don’t be intimidated. It’s really inexpensive, so if you mess up, it’s not a big deal. This project cost less than $20. It’s also fairly easy to work with and find at most hardware or home improvement stores.

Saw

PVC pipe can be cut using several methods. The pipe I used for this project is 1/8# thick. That means that it’s sturdier than the thinner variety. It also means that you can’t use a simple PVC pipe cutter to cut it. Well, to be specific, you can’t use a PVC pipe cutter if you want to be finished anytime soon. A simple PVC pipe cutter looks like a wrench with a sharp blade on it. Trust me on this one, get yourself a saw.

PVC pipe cutter, hacksaw, reciprocating saw…

saws

There are two types of saws you can use for this project. A hacksaw is a pretty standard and useful tool to have in your tool box. The blades are inexpensive to replace and can be purchased for specific uses (wood, metal, etc.). For this project, I would use a metal blade since the teeth are smaller and closer together than a wood blade.

If you want to get fancy, use a reciprocating saw or circular saw. I used a reciprocating saw. Mine is battery powered and uses the same cordless battery as my drill and hedge trimmer. Plus it’s very fun to cut things with!

Directions

1. Cut the PVC pipe.

I cut my 4 pipes into the following lengths:

  • 2 long = 6 feet 1 1/2 inches (stand height)
  • 3 medium = 3 feet 7 1/2 inches (stand width)
  • 4 small = 1 foot 1/4 inch (stand depth)

The edges of the pipe may be a little jagged or not perfectly even. Don’t worry about it. Once you connect the elbow and T joints, it won’t matter.

2. Connect the pieces

Connect two of the small pipes to each T joint. Connect an elbow to the other end of each small pipe.

base partsBase

Connect a medium pipe to the other end of each elbow joint.

base complete

Connect the long pipes to the T joint.

stand piecesstand

Connect the remaining medium pipe to each elbow joint. For my frame, I rolled my quilt around the third medium size pipe. Connect the long pipe to the last elbow joint to make the finished pipe frame.

quilt hanger display complete

Storage

My friend Misty of Eco-Mist Designs specializes in bags made from recycled materials. She insisted that I could not carry around my sisters one-of-a-kind quilt in a cardboard bag. So she made me an amazing bag out of recycled materials. The polka dots were an added surprise. She even water-proofed it. Well, aren’t I spoiled!

bag openedbag closedbag holders

 

Leave a Reply

