The Best Laid Plans…

The best laid plans of mice and men often go awry (John Steinbeck). I had big plans for new recipes and marmalade and reduced sugar jam in January and February.

Then life happened.

First up, my annual work trip to Little Rock, AR to meet with my awesome co-workers for a few days. It was a little bitter sweet because my friend Leslie was missing this year. She’s now working at a non-profit in her local community, which is good. But I still missed her.

The Amaryllis bulb I potted up in November bloomed.

Then the flu happened. I’m talking bronchitis plus a fever of 101 for three days straight. It was very inconvenient and a terrible waste of paid time off that could have been used doing almost anything else more fun. Also, I wasn’t able to finish the batch of orange marmalade I prepped.

But then good news, my short and sweet Iris bulbs bloomed. Flowers make me so happy!

After the flu, on my hunt for a recipe to compliment my Pomelo Marmalade, I made cinnamon rolls. Unfortunately, I did not calculate the temperature of the milk which caused the yeast to rise incorrectly. So dense and flat cinnamon rolls came out of the oven. Sigh.

After getting over the flu, I celebrated Valentine’s day with delicate French pastries and wine tasting with my new boyfriend John.

It’s possible, just the tiniest bit, that I may have overdone it. The past week, I’ve been trying to catch up on my life from being sick. Honestly, I’ve also been having a super good time catching up on the fun stuff I missed out on.

I feel like this blog post is a series of random events and excuses for not doing much of anything related to jam the past few weeks. Also, I don’t know how to make it end. Maybe my mojo is off. So I’ll end it with the best, most awesome text ever from by 4 year old nephew Lincoln. As an intro, Lincoln has an imaginary sister. Because he doesn’t do things half way, his imaginary sister is Katy Perry. Now that you have the background, the text will make more sense.

Lincoln: “Hey Becky baby should come to my house sometime….my sister Katy Perry is not like my sister. Katy Perry doesn’t really like anyone in this world except me.” And that is all my friends. I promise to up my game for the next post.

Leave a Reply

