A Berry Big Dilemma

I love it when a plan comes together! Unfortunately, my plans are often a teensy too ambitious. A couple of weeks ago, I promised jam from every berry.

img_8626img_8392

The berry big dilemma is to nap or pick berries or do other “adult” things like balance my checkbook – yuck! You see, I needed to take some naps…and fix my sprinkler system before all my plants died slowly in the summer heat. Then there’s looking for a new job. Also, finishing up projects. The berry possibilities seem endless! Plus there are other fruits, like peaches, to be picked. Did I mention the naps?

In my defense, the summer berry season in Oregon has been at least three weeks early. So it seems like everything ripened at once! The good news it that there are lots of berries in jars or the freezer waiting to be chosen for the next batch including

  • Hood Strawberries
  • Red Raspberries
  • Loganberries (only one batch)
  • Marionberries (never enough for Oregonians’ love of marionberries)
  • Blueberries
  • Blackberries
  • Golden Raspberries

The only berries I missed out on were Boysenberries and Tayberries. I also managed to get lots of Robata apricots, rhubarb, rose petals, Monmortency and Royal Brooks cherries, figs and black currants . In a month or so, I will be picking Honeycrisp apples, Asian pears, Bartlett Pears and Italian Plums. So there. You know, I don’t feel too bad now.

Perhaps it’s my greedy heart that is so deeply concerned.

Leave a Reply

