Rosie & Sponge Cake

My friend Rosie and I have known each other since the first grade. We went to school from first to fourth grade, but we weren’t really friends. Then in the seventh grade, I started going to Binnsmead Middle School. Rosie went home the first day I started and told her mom I was at her school. Her mom said (in her usual sing-song voice) “Rose Ann, you invite her over to spend the night! She is a nice girl and I like her mother.” Rosie didn’t want too because I was too much of a nerd. While Rosie had an excellent point, she begrudgingly invited me. Somehow we became close friends. Since the seventh grade, we have kept in touch even though we often lived in different states.

8th Grade Graduation Dance (I’m not really sure why we’re wearing almost matching dresses or why I thought lots of bangs was a super good idea…)

8th grade

Rosie and I hung out together all the time until my family moved to Phoenix after the ninth grade. She had a pool, which was a real draw in Portland. We perfected our synchronized swimming routine, mirrored very loosely after the summer Olympics team. We watched SNL with Chris Farley and Adam Sandler. We ate hundreds of Otter Pops. We got in stupid arguments then made up right away. We cooked and baked quite a lot as well. Our favorites were lasagna, chocolate chip cookies and BBQ chicken. We also made this Sponge Cake on more than one occasion. It’s nice and simple.

Sponge Cake

Moist, simple, versatile sponge cake using ingredients you already have in your kitchen. This is a family recipe that I have enjoyed probably hundreds of times.

sponge cake

Gather It

  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tbsp. butter
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder

Make It

blenderthermometermuffin tins

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Grease 9×13 inch pan or muffin tin (makes 18)
  • Beat eggs in mixer for 2 minutes on medium speed
  • Beat in sugar, salt and vanilla for 30 seconds on medium speed
  • Heat milk and butter to almost boiling, about 120 degrees
  • Stir in hot milk and butter
  • Mix flour and baking powder and stir
  • Pour into pan or use scoop to divide among muffin tin
  • Bake 25 to 35 minutes until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean

Gobble It

cake with oranges

  • This sponge cake is crazy versatile. Here are just a few ideas for enjoying…
  • Strawberries and whipping cream
  • Fresh blood oranges
  • Any number of warmed Aunt Becky’s jams, fruit butters, sauces, or syrups
  • Warm chocolate with whipping cream
  • You get the idea

Somehow Rosie and I are still friends. I think it’s because she knows all the truly stupid things I’ve done and still loves me. Or because I love her boys (Ben, Ryan and Joseph) and spoil them like I do my nieces and nephews. Or because we make each other laugh. Does it really matter why? I guess not. Eat some cake!

Oregon Agricultural Festival 004blue and goldjoe's 1st birthday

Leave a comment